Posted by: Mel Smith | October 26, 2008

Liar, liar, pants on fire!

Liar, liar, pants on fire!

by mel smith

I’m being sidetracked toward politics as the elections draw near. Sorry, but that’s the way it goes.

Is this the new political phenomena for 2008, the year of the wicked lies? In the good old days, candidates for office were the ones telling lies, but this year it seems like everybody wants to get in on the act.

Specifically I’m talking about the political e-mails that individuals are forwarding and posting on blogs and bulletin boards. Take this example.

On Friday evening, one of the local haters posted an “open letter to Obama” on a bulletin board. It received a dozen responses half of which were the original poster laughing and half of the remaining half were the poster’s hater-friends giving their high-fives over the foolishness. The remaining three post were the only ones that seriously consider the email.

The email was not the original work of the poster but a copy/paste of something written by Michael Master of McLean, Virginia (Is this the same big contributor to McCain/Palin from that area?). If you care to find it, it is easy enough, but I won’t help spread the stupidity. The ‘Open Letter to Obama” is about 6 pages long containing some 2300 words! I found one blogger that had taken the time to write a rebuttal to a portion of the lengthy email and included a link to his rebuttal in my reply. (I was pleasantly surprised to receive an email from the author of the rebuttal two days later! Thank you Chris H., I felt very honored!)

Anyway, the thing is, as a result of the exchange, someone else posted some more crap in an in-your-face repetition of a point disputed and then another person posted the original email again two days later! No one responded to refute the second time so some more haters got on and gave their gifts of glee.

That was an Obama example but the same thing is occurring on the other side as well. I wonder if anyone else has noticed this trend? Is it really as new and different as it seems? I mean, it seems like serious consideration of issues and candidate-stands are being buried under a barrage of lies and hoaxes and they just pile up faster than anyone can refute them.

I think the foolish lies have pushed people to a point where no one is listening to anything anymore. Well, some people still listen to anything that reinforces their prefered beliefs, but I know I’m not. I just assume everything being said is untrue or half truths and have closed my ears to everything. I doubt that that was the desired effect but that is what is happening.

I think the lies and hoaxes are backfiring. I have spoken to several people that would have sat this election out but are now planning to vote against the liars! I must confess I’m one of those. I was kind of for Mrs. Clinton but not really excited about Mr. Obama. I had planned to stay home this election day but now thanks to the liars and the haters, I will be doing something I don’t think I’ve ever done before… voting democratic!

Leave a Reply

Categories

