Posted by: Mel Smith | September 30, 2008

Panic

I stopped by Bun Bun’s house this morning to see how he was doing. He was looking poorly, ears all droopy, and the rag tied around his head as he read the morning paper made him look like Rocky. Rush Limbaugh was delivering a political sermon from the radio by his chair as I walked in and sat down.

Panic grips Bun Bun as the reed pipe plays.

Panic grips Bun Bun as the reed pipe plays.

“I just can’t take much more of this.” Bun Bun sighed.

“…Much more of what?” I asked.

“Oh, all this political stuff, that’s all they have in the news anymore,” he complained.

I thought about that for a moment. Bun Bun had his radio tuned to a program known to dwell on politics, and he was reading a major newspaper that always concerned itself with the latest political doings-on, “Why don’t you turn the station?” I ask “or just turn the radio off?”

Bun Bun looked at me over his paper and shook his head, “I need to stay informed.” He said contemptuously! He rolled his eyes and went back to reading his paper. It didn’t seem to register in Bun Bun’s thick brain that he was choosing the news he listened to and read… only to bemoan his own choice afterward.

I have noticed that trait in many people. They seem unable to pass over things they don’t like. They want someone else to take the choice away from them, or make the choice for them. Newspapers should only carry stories that they are interested in reading; discussion forums should only have threads that interest them. Too much religion, politics, or sports will always bring out cries to the moderators to start a new forum so they will not have to exercise any form of personal discretion in the threads they look at.

The news flashed over the radio … ‘The House voted down the bail-out bill!’.. Bun Bun’s ears flipped, he dropped the paper, and began, “What most American don’t understand….”

Yawn!

I tuned out. How could I be so lucky as to be in the presence of the non-typical American that understands while most of the rest of us do not get it; moreover, all this coming from a frightened rabbit! As Bun Bun droned on about whose fault it was that Wall Street was in a mess, and elaborated on how awful the future was going to be, and how he had tried to warn everyone, and now we would all see… ▫♫♪ ♫ … I thought I heard the faint notes of a reed pipe!

Pan was certainly piping as panic griped the heart of Bun Bun over the things that were soon coming over the world, but in my heart I heard this familiar refrain:

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures; he leadeth me beside the sill waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; they rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Leave a Reply

Categories

